Previous Page
PCLinuxOS Magazine
Article List
Next Page

PCLinuxOS Family Member Spotlight: agmg

by agmg as told to Smileeb

How old are you?

On October 27th, I turned 36.

Married, single or what?

Married since 2006 with my wife, Georgia.

Children, grandchildren?

I have two sons, Emmanuel, 7 yrs old and John, 5 yrs old.

Retired or working and for how long and at what.

I work for a big wholesale company as a Graphic Designer/Photographer. I've been there for 5 years now. Before that, I was employed on a clothing decoration company, working on embroidery and strass design.

What is the area you live in like. Weather, Quietness, Scenery.

I live in Thessaloniki, Greece's second biggest city. I rent a small house away from the city's center, in a quiet neighborhood, close to my sons' schools. This house has a small yard for the children to play, and it's cozy and warm. I like living a quiet life, so this house is perfect for me. The weather is mostly warm and sunny, although at times too humid.

Are you handy with your hands and have any hobbies.

I would say that I'm good at sketching and drawing, although I don't really practice that skill any more. Computers are my hobbies, and I wish I had chosen a profession that is more computer-related. I'm not complaining, though, because I like to create and experiment with new stuff, and that is what Graphic Design offers me. I'm also a big movies fan.

What is your education level?

I've finished high school and then studied Graphic Design for two years in a private institution. Right after that, I started working.

Do you like to travel, go camping?

I like to travel but unfortunately my finances don't allow me to do that very often. My parents live in a small island in Cyclades, so we get to visit them for summer holidays, almost every year. I hope that we will have the chance to travel more often in the years to come (and my sons have grown a little older).

What caused you to try Linux and join this forum?

The main reason that caused my to try Linux was curiosity. Since I like messing with computers and learning new stuff, I wanted to see what this alternative OS was about. My first experience was back in 2010 with Ubuntu and GNOME 2.32. After a lot of distro-hopping, and as I was getting more familiar with Linux, I was intrigued by the rolling-release feature that some distros offered. That's how I installed PCLinuxOS on my laptop, sometime around 2011. I wasn't a big fan of KDE at first, but I've grown to like it, and it has become my favorite desktop environment ever since. Once I've met PCLinuxOS, I was hooked. I had never seen another distro working so great and trouble-free, and no other community was so warm and helpful as the one we have. I still try other distros occasionally, but PCLinuxOS is my number one and the OS I use 99% of my time. I wish I could be completely Windows-free, but I still need it for a couple of Graphic Design programs that I can't do without.

PCLinuxOS Family Member Spotlight is an exclusive, monthly column by smileeb, featuring PCLinuxOS forum members. This column will allow "the rest of us" to get to know our forum family members better, and will give those featured an opportunity to share their PCLinuxOS story with the rest of the world.

If you would like to be featured in PCLinuxOS Family Member Spotlight, please send a private message to smileeb in the PCLinuxOS forum expressing your interest.

Previous Page              Top              Next Page